Overview of Microsoft Azure Development and the Azure SDK

Posted by Errin O'Connor on May, 08, 2015 11:05

Microsoft Azure currently has four main groupings related to their features and services which are:

  • Infrastructure Services
  • Develop Modern Applications
  • Insights from Data
  • Identity and Access Management

Microsoft Azure has a in-depth documentation library available, as shown in the image below, to help answer question as well as review the frequent updates published on its structure and underlying security model as well as cloud compliance and regulatory concerns.

These four main groupings related to their features and services are then broken down further, as shown in the image below, to provide an overview of the additional offerings as detailed below:

Infrastructure Services

  • Virtual Machines
  • Storage, Backup, and Recovery
  • Big Compute

Develop Modern Applications

  • Web
  • Mobile
  • Media
  • Integration
  • Dev-Test

Insights from Data

  • SQL Databases
  • HDInsight

Identity and Access Management

  • Active Directory
  • Multi-factor Authentication

To obtain a free trial subscription of Microsoft Azure, refer to the following link:

To download the Microsoft Azure SDK and available command line tools, as shown in the image below, refer to the following link:

Overview of the documentation center available on Microsoft Azure

Overview of the available Offerings and Features of Microsoft Azure

Microsoft Azure’s available downloads to obtain the latest SDK as well any available command line tools that you may require.

When reviewing your organization’s development requirements and the resources you may currently have on-premises as well as those that you may be reviewing in the cloud, it is key to have a clear understanding of what the disaster recovery architecture model would entail along with the published SLAs from the provider. A high-level overview of Microsoft Azure’s DR architecture can be seen in the image below.

In Microsoft Azure, there is a 99.95% SLA for extranet connectivity which is really the industry standard across the board. Microsoft Azure’s latest service level agreement (SLA) can be found at the following link:

This SLA covers the actual hardware as well as the datacenter, network and any power grid failure as well as hardware upgrades and related software maintenance in their datacenter(s). The two elements that are no covered are VM container crashes as well as guest OS updates.

Microsoft Azure’s Disaster Recovery Architecture

EPC Group’s Microsoft Azure & Hybrid Cloud Development

When review your organization’s overall approach to development as well as the actual hosting and provider selection, it is key to start from the disaster recovery metrics and SLAs and then work your way back through your specific requirements.

This is a completely different way of thinking when of that of the past, but this the new approach when discussing cloud and hybrid cloud initiatives.

About the Author

Errin O'Connor

With over 25 years of experience in Information Technology and Management Consulting, Errin O’Connor has led hundreds of large-scale enterprise implementations from Business Intelligence, Power BI, Office 365, SharePoint, Exchange, IT Security, Azure and Hybrid Cloud efforts for over 165 Fortune 500 companies.

Let's Get to Work Together!

Talk to our Microsoft Gold Certified Consultants

Contact EPC Group

Call for help:

(888) 381-9725

Email Us:

[email protected]

Head Office:

4900 Woodway Drive - Suite 830 Houston, Texas 77056